🔍 Read the full analysis: The AI Flat Rate Debate, Explained: Musk’s Grok Costs And OpenAI’s Rules on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
On Nov. 1, Elon Musk said the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot had been “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” without giving figures or announcing a specific policy change. In the same week, OpenAI added limits on paid accounts tied to devices and payment cards and said several plans will share an allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December. The developments point to more metered use beneath flat monthly prices, but they do not establish that AI subscriptions are ending.
Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI introduced new controls on paid account sharing and announced a shared ChatGPT-and-Codex allowance from December. Neither development ends flat monthly pricing, but both show that a subscription price does not necessarily mean unlimited use of an AI service.
Musk’s comment came in reply to an X user asking for a Grok Bot usage reset after users said their allowance had run out quickly. Musk gave no cost, revenue or margin figures, and did not specify whether xAI had changed a limit, planned a reset or would alter pricing. His statement concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s task-oriented agent, not Grok chat generally.
According to xAI’s pricing information cited by ThorstenMeyerAI.com, Grok Bot is included with the Premium, Super and Ultra X subscriptions, priced at $30, $100 and $200 per month respectively, and draws from a shared weekly usage pool. xAI says use is measured through agent steps and tokens, rather than simply by message count; the rate depends on the task and the effort it requires.
OpenAI’s late-October help-page changes say the company limits how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought using one payment card or device. The limits apply to Go, Plus and Pro plans, but OpenAI has not published the numerical thresholds, according to the source report. OpenAI also says that from December, Plus, Pro and Business users will draw from one shared allowance for ChatGPT and Codex, measured in tokens. The report says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that meter.
OpenAI also adjusted some higher-tier allowances during the same week. Its release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous Work and Codex allowance on Oct. 29, while a planned reduction to Pro 200 was cancelled. These changes complicate any simple account of across-the-board tightening: OpenAI expanded some allowances while setting out new controls and a combined meter.
Infographic 01 · One week, four moves
More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked
In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset
OpenAI gives more on top plans
Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.
Limits per card and per device
ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.
One meter from December
Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.
Musk: Grok Bot cost too much
One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.
Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.
Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
Why AI Usage Is Being Metered
The changes matter because subscription costs and computing costs do not necessarily move together. An ordinary chat response and a long-running agent task can consume different amounts of computing resources, even when both are accessed through the same monthly plan. For users, a fixed price may therefore come with usage pools, model-specific limits or task-dependent consumption rather than a uniform amount of work.
OpenAI’s published rate information illustrates the difference between models: the source report says its most capable model uses an allowance about 100 times faster per output token than its cheapest model. That comparison concerns the rate at which allowance is consumed per output token; it is not a measure of total subscription cost or a claim about every task. Agent products such as Grok Bot can also continue working in the background, making message counts a poor guide to resource use.
For businesses, the practical issue is budgeting. A seat price may not capture the full cost if teams use metered tools heavily, so buyers may need written details on included allowances, overage charges and how usage is counted. For individuals, the immediate advice in the source report is to check the provider’s usage page before paying for an upgrade, reset or additional credits. The figures and rules can vary by plan and may change.
Products Worth Considering

Apple MacBook Pro 2023 with M2 Pro Chip, 14‑inch, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD – Space Gray

Apple Mac mini Desktop Computer with M4 chip, 10‑core CPU and GPU, 24GB Unified Memory, 512GB SSD, Gigabit Ethernet

Apple MacBook Air 13-inch with M5 chip, 16GB memory, 1TB SSD, and 12MP Center Stage camera (Midnight)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The debate echoes an earlier episode at OpenAI. The company introduced a $200-a-month ChatGPT plan in December 2024, describing access to its best models as unlimited. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That post is a historical statement about the plan at that time, not a current financial disclosure.
The latest developments are more specific than a general move away from subscriptions. Musk’s Nov. 1 reply addressed the economics of one product, Grok Bot, and did not announce a defined limit or price change. OpenAI’s announcements concern account controls and allowance accounting, alongside an increase to certain Pro allowances. Anthropic’s Claude also has subscription usage limits, according to the source report, but the material provided does not detail those limits.
That distinction matters: a flat monthly price can remain in place while providers meter access behind the scenes or place caps on particular uses. The available evidence supports a shift toward more explicit usage rules—not a conclusion that every AI plan is becoming pay-as-you-go or that all providers are making the same changes.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”
— Elon Musk, replying to an X user on Nov. 1, 2026
Limits, Costs and Resets Unspecified
Musk did not disclose Grok Bot’s costs, revenue or margins, explain what prompted his comment, or say whether a usage cap had already changed. His use of the past tense was interpreted by some outlets as suggesting a change had happened, but that is an interpretation, not an explicit announcement. The source report also describes a separate post attributed to Grok’s official account about adjusted allocations and a dashboard fault, but says it could not verify the post itself; those details should be treated as reported, not confirmed.
OpenAI has not published the numerical thresholds for its device and payment-card limits in the cited help information. The source material also does not provide a full breakdown of how the shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance will work across models, tasks or account types beyond the stated plans, token measurement and December start. It remains unclear whether either company will revise prices, offer resets or change allowances again.
Watch for Published Usage Rules
The next stated milestone is OpenAI’s planned move in December to a shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans. Users and businesses will need to consult the company’s updated plan and usage pages for the detailed rules, including any thresholds or changes not specified in the source material.
For xAI, Musk’s post does not set out a follow-up date or policy change. Further clarification from the company would be needed to establish whether Grok Bot’s weekly pool, subscription price or access rules have changed. Until providers publish more detail, comparisons between plans should distinguish the monthly fee from the amount and type of usage included.
Key Questions
Did Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?
No specific new limit was announced in his Nov. 1 post. He said serving Grok Bot had been unsustainably costly relative to revenue but gave no details about a cap, reset or price change.
OpenAI says the shared, token-measured allowance will apply to Plus, Pro and Business plans from December. The source report says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that meter.
Has OpenAI published the device and payment-card limits?
The cited help page says limits apply to paid Go, Plus and Pro accounts, but the source report says OpenAI has not published the numerical thresholds.
Are AI subscriptions ending?
The developments described do not show that flat monthly subscriptions are ending. They show providers applying usage pools, account controls and metering alongside subscription prices.
Why can an AI agent use an allowance faster than a chat?
According to xAI’s documentation, Grok Bot usage depends on agent steps, tokens and task effort, not only the number of messages. A task that runs in the background can consume more resources than a short reply.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
