OpenAI Doubles Limits On ChatGPT Pro: What’s In The Plan?
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI Doubles Limits On ChatGPT Pro: What’s In The Plan? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI canceled a planned cut to ChatGPT Pro 200 usage and doubled the Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance now match those who already had the higher one; other limits, including Plus usage and some Pro chat limits, remain unchanged.

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to ChatGPT Pro 200 usage and increased the shared Work and Codex allowance on its Pro 100 and Pro 500 plans, the company said in release notes dated October 29. The changes took effect immediately, a day before the scheduled Pro 200 cut, and existing subscribers do not need to wait for renewal to receive updated allowances.

OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The company also canceled the reduction it had announced for Pro 200 in a September 29 email. Work and Codex draw from the same allowance, so the increase applies to that shared pool rather than creating separate limits for each service.

The revised Pro help page clarifies that Pro 200 was not doubled for every subscriber. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it; those on the lower allowance now receive the higher level. The page says new subscriptions include the updated allowance and existing subscribers receive it automatically.

Other limits did not all change. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, as are the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500. On Pro 200, the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one. Ultrafast, a faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not specify by how much.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; changes app…
The developmentOpenAI announced on October 29 that it had canceled a planned Pro 200 usage reduction and increased Work and Codex allowances on several paid plans.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

How the Changes Affect Each Plan

The change matters to people using OpenAI’s paid plans for coding and longer Work tasks, because those activities share a pool and the allowance is now larger on Pro 100 and Pro 500. For Pro 200 subscribers who faced a planned reduction, the cancellation avoids the announced cut; for those on its lower allowance, the update raises access to match the higher existing level.

It does not mean that every ChatGPT limit has doubled, or that subscribers can complete twice as much work. OpenAI says actual usage depends on the model, task and speed mode. The distinction is relevant when comparing plan prices: the updates affect particular usage allowances, not every feature or message limit.

Businesses also have a reason to review their seat plans. Business Premium usage is higher, but the official release note does not provide a multiplier. Companies should distinguish ChatGPT seat allowances from API budgets; the announcement concerns plan usage and does not state that API pricing or budgets have changed.

Products Worth Considering

Dell XPS 13 9350 Laptop, 13.4 FHD+ Display, Intel Ultra 7 256V, 16GB DDR5, 1TB SSD

Dell XPS 13 9350 Laptop, 13.4 FHD+ Display, Intel Ultra 7 256V, 16GB DDR5, 1TB SSD

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

September’s Planned Pro 200 Cut

The change follows a series of Pro-plan updates in September. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan on September 10. TechCrunch reported that Thibault Sottiaux, an OpenAI product lead who posts as Tibo, attributed the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That description is Sottiaux’s characterization, not an independently established measure of demand.

On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced a $500 Pro 500 plan. Its notice said included usage allowances were changing while the monthly Pro 200 price remained $200. Sottiaux described a usage scale on X as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, adding that some existing subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier for a time. The planned October 30 reduction prompted the reversal announced the day before.

OpenAI’s October 29 release notes provide the official account of the update. The updated Pro help page supplies plan-specific qualifications, including which limits stayed the same. Where a broader social-media description differs from that detailed help page, the help page is the clearer guide to the limits.

“We heard your kind feedback.”

— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo

Business Premium Increase Unspecified

OpenAI’s release note confirms that Business Premium usage is increasing, but it does not give a numerical allowance or say how the increase varies by seat. Sottiaux said the allowance doubles in a post on X, but the company’s release note and updated help material, as described in the source reporting, do not state that factor. The precise Business Premium change is therefore not established by the official release note.

OpenAI also has not said in the cited materials whether the revised allowances are temporary or how long they will remain in place. The announcement is about Work and Codex usage; it does not establish a general doubling of all ChatGPT usage limits. Business Standard, Go and Free plans were not mentioned in the October 29 notes.

Check Plan Details and Usage

The updated allowances apply automatically, according to OpenAI, so subscribers do not need to change plans or wait for a billing date. Users can check their account’s usage page and current plan details to see the allowance available to them before deciding whether to upgrade.

For companies, the next practical step is to review seat allocation and monitor Work and Codex usage under the updated limits. Further clarification from OpenAI would be needed to establish the exact Business Premium increase and whether any additional plans are affected. Until then, the published plan-specific terms—not a broad reading of “doubled limits”—are the clearest guide.

Key Questions

Which ChatGPT plans received twice the Work and Codex allowance?

OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. The company’s official note does not give a numerical multiplier for Business Premium.

Did every Pro 200 subscriber get double usage?

No. OpenAI says Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance now match the higher allowance. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it, so the change does not double usage for everyone on that plan.

Did ChatGPT’s other limits also double?

No. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain unchanged. The announcement concerns Work and Codex allowances, with a separate Pro 200 weekly-limit adjustment.

Do existing subscribers need to take action?

No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal. Subscribers can check their account usage page for plan-specific details.

How much did Business Premium usage increase?

OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not give a number. Sottiaux described the increase as a doubling in a post, but the official note does not specify that factor.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
You May Also Like

Pricing Strategies For TikTok Shop Success Using Competitor Monitoring

TikTok Shop sellers are testing a new competitor-price tracker tool to improve repricing strategies and boost sales, marking a potential shift in marketplace competition.

DIY Chrome Extensions

New AI-powered platform enables non-developers to create Chrome extensions via natural language prompts, simplifying browser automation.

How Kage Revolutionizes Offline Website Monitoring For Tech Operations

Kage introduces a new tool that shadows websites into a single offline binary, helping small tech teams monitor platform changes faster and more efficiently.

ChatGPT Rank Monitoring: A Key Tool For AI Search And Marketing SaaS

A new ChatGPT rank monitoring tool is being tested for in-house SEO and marketing teams, aiming to track brand visibility in AI-generated answers amid rising AI search use.