TL;DR
Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Nationwide has launched a 30-month Member Exclusive Bond paying 5.3%, described by MoneyWeek as the highest rate on the market at the time of its report. The account is available to existing Nationwide and Virgin Money customers; the source does not provide full terms or enough information to judge whether a cash ISA would suit a particular saver better.
Nationwide has launched a 30-month Member Exclusive Bond paying 5.3% interest, with eligibility limited to existing Nationwide and Virgin Money customers, according to MoneyWeek. The outlet described the rate as the highest available on the market at the time of its report, though the supplied information does not include a comparison date or evidence to independently verify that ranking.
The new account is a fixed-rate savings bond with a term of 30 months. The stated rate is 5.3%, and the product is labelled a Member Exclusive Bond. MoneyWeek says it is open to existing customers of Nationwide and Virgin Money, but the source material does not set out how customers qualify or how to apply.
The report frames the launch against a question savers may ask: whether money could be better placed in a cash ISA. It does not provide a cash ISA rate comparison, explain the bond’s tax treatment, or give details such as minimum deposit, maximum balance, withdrawal rules, interest-payment options or the application deadline. Those terms should be checked with Nationwide before a saver makes a decision.
MoneyWeek’s description of the account as the market’s top-paying option is an attributed comparison, not a ranking that can be confirmed from the information supplied here. Savings rates can change, and the source gives no date for its market check. The 5.3% figure is the rate reported for this product; it is not a promise about returns from other accounts or a recommendation for every saver.
How the Fixed Term Affects Savers
A 30-month commitment makes this offer different from an easy-access account: a saver should weigh the fixed rate against whether they might need the money before the term ends. The source does not state whether early access is permitted or what penalty, if any, could apply, so those details matter before funds are deposited.
The ISA comparison also depends on individual circumstances. A cash ISA is a tax-free savings account, while the source does not specify whether the Nationwide bond is held within an ISA wrapper. The report provides no personal tax details or side-by-side rates, so it cannot establish which option would leave a particular saver better off. Readers should compare the full account terms and their own needs rather than relying only on the headline rate.
Eligibility narrows the offer’s reach: according to MoneyWeek, it is for existing Nationwide and Virgin Money customers. People who do not meet that condition may not be able to open it, even if the stated rate appears attractive.
Products Worth Considering

Dell Pro 14 Plus P1425 14-Inch Portable Monitor

Logitech MX Keys Combo for Business Keyboard and Mouse – Graphite

Apple MacBook Pro 2023 16.2 M2 Max 32GB 1TB SSD Space Gray
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Nationwide’s Member-Only Offer
The announcement is presented as a product launch by Nationwide Building Society, with access tied to an existing customer relationship. The report names Nationwide and Virgin Money customers as eligible groups but does not explain whether all such customers qualify or whether additional account conditions apply.
MoneyWeek’s headline calls the bond the top-rate option “right now.” That wording reflects a time-sensitive comparison, but the supplied article extract gives no publication date, list of competing products or methodology. The ranking should therefore be read as MoneyWeek’s assessment at the time, rather than a permanent feature of the account.
““5.3% interest rate””
— MoneyWeek
Bond Terms and ISA Comparison
The available source does not specify the bond’s minimum or maximum deposit, how interest is paid, whether customers can withdraw early, or what happens when the fixed term ends. It also does not provide a product link, application deadline or the detailed eligibility rules for Nationwide and Virgin Money customers.
It remains unclear how the reported 5.3% rate compares with cash ISA products available at the same time. The source gives no ISA rates or tax examples, and it does not identify the bond’s tax status. The market-leading description is also difficult to assess independently without a dated comparison. These missing details mean the headline alone cannot show which account would be more suitable or financially beneficial for an individual saver.
Check the Full Account Conditions
People considering the bond will need to check Nationwide’s current product information for the rate, eligibility rules and access conditions, then compare those terms with available cash ISAs and other savings accounts. Because savings offers can change, the reported rate and market ranking should be verified before applying.
No further product update or closing date is provided in the source material. Until Nationwide’s complete terms and a dated market comparison are available, the confirmed information is limited to the reported 5.3% rate, 30-month term and stated customer eligibility.
Key Questions
What rate does Nationwide’s new bond pay?
MoneyWeek reports that the 30-month Member Exclusive Bond pays 5.3%. The source does not provide further details on how or when interest is paid.
Who can apply for the Nationwide bond?
According to MoneyWeek, it is available to existing Nationwide and Virgin Money customers. The full eligibility rules are not included in the source material.
Is the bond better than a cash ISA?
The available information does not establish that. It includes no cash ISA rate comparison and no details about the bond’s tax treatment or a saver’s circumstances. Compare current rates, account terms and tax implications before choosing.
Can savers withdraw money before the 30 months are over?
The source does not state whether early withdrawals are allowed or whether restrictions or penalties apply. Check Nationwide’s full account terms before depositing money.
Is 5.3% still the highest savings rate available?
MoneyWeek described it as the market’s highest-paying option at the time of its report, but the source extract has no publication date or comparison data. Rates change, so the current ranking is unconfirmed.
Source: moneyweek.com
